

### City of Westworth Village

311 Burton Hill Road . Westworth Village, TX 76114

## 7.710.2500 • Kax 817.710.2501

#### JOINT WITH THE PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

**TUESDAY SEPTEMBER 18, 2012** 

TIME: 7:00 PM

ATTENDEES:

Mayor Tony Yeager Mayor Pro-Tem Kelly Jones Council Member Jill Patton Council Member Nick Encke Council Member Steve Beckman Council Member Mike Coleman P&Z Chair Melva Campbell Darla Thornton P&Z Secretary Tom Weaver P&Z Member

P&Z Member Jeannette Jones Margaret Worthington P&Z Member

P&Z Member Jim Evans Roger Unger City Admin City Attorney George Staples Police Chief Doug Reim

ABSENT:

P&Z Member City Secretary Michael Lewis Carol Ann Borges

SPECIAL COUNCIL SESSION CALLED TO ORDER at 7:00 PM, by Mayor Yeager. PLANNING & ZONING SESSION CALLED TO ORDER at 7:00 PM, by Chair Melva Campbell.

INVOCATION offered by Council Member Mike Coleman.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE led by Mayor Yeager.

#### PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

Approval of Minutes from P&Z meeting on August 14, 2012 postponed to next meeting by Chair Melva Campbell.

JOINT PUBLIC HEARING OPENED at 7:02 PM by Mayor Yeager and at 7:02 PM by P&Z Chair Melva Campbell to receive input from interested persons regarding the re-zoning of the 12 ½ acre tract of land recorded on Document No. D211211720, by the Tarrant County Clerk, on the C. Connelly Survey, Abstract No. 319, and lee let 0 KC. Springs L.P., Abysically located at the southwest corner of Roaring Springs Road and Higi way 837 commonly referred to at the 4H tract, in the City of Westworth Village, Texas, to a Commercial Planned Development Zone.

- Ms. Sherry Schmitz, resident of Westworth Village, presented 3 questions:
  - 1. What is the tract currently zoned and why does it need to change?
  - 2. Will there still be a buffer zone between the new structure and the adjacent condos?
  - 3. Will residents receive notices of future meeting regarding this tract of land?

JOINT PUBLIC HEARING CLOSED at 7:09 PM by Mayor Yeager.
JOINT PUBLIC HEARING CLOSED at 7:09 PM by Chair Melva Campbell.

#### PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION ACTION

• MOTION to approve re-zone made by Jeannette Jones. SECOND by Margaret Worthington. Motion passed unanimously, by a vote of 5 Ayes and 0 Nays.

#### CITY COUNCIL ACTION

• MOTION to approve re-zone made by Kelly Jones. SECOND by Steve Beckman. Motion passed unanimously, by a vote of 5 Ayes and 0 Nays.

PLANNING & ZONING SESSION ADJOURNED at 7:11 PM by Chair Melva Campbell.

CITY COUNCIL PUBLIC HEARING #1 OPENED at 7:11 PM by Mayor Yeager to receive input from interested persons regarding the adoption of the Fiscal Year 2012-2013 Budget. The Council will meet on September 25<sup>th</sup> at 6:00 PM to vote on the adoption.

• No public comments received.

CITY COUNCIL PUBLIC HEARING CLOSED at 7:12 PM by Mayor Yeager.

CITY COUNCIL PUBLIC HEARING #2 OPENED at 7:12 PM by Mayor Yeager to receive input from interested persons regarding the adoption of the 2012 Tax Rate of .492 per \$100 of valuation with the proposal to increase total tax revenues from properties on the tax roll in the preceding tax year by 7.8%. The Council will meet on September 25<sup>th</sup> at 6:00 PM to vote on the adoption.

• No public comments received.

CITY COUNCIL PUBLIC HEARING CLOSED at 7:13 PM by Mayor Yeager.

#### CITY COUNCIL ACTION

• MOTION to appoint Roger Unger as a Voting Member and Larry Briones as an Alternate Voting Member to the Fort Worth Water & Wastewater Board Wholesale Customer Advisory Committee [WCAC] for a two year term beginning October 1, 2012 through September 30, 2014 made by Kelly Jones. SECOND by Jill Patton. Motion passed unanimously, by a vote of 5 Ayes and 0 Nays

SPECIAL COUNCIL SESSION ADJOURNED at 7:14 PM, by Mayor Yeager.

### MINUTES taken by P Coonission Secretary Darl Thornton POVE

# MINUTES APPROVED BY: This, the \_\_\_\_\_, 20\_\_\_. Melva Campbell, P&Z Chairperson SIGNATURE ATTESTED BY: Darla Thornton, Recording Secretary This, the 9th day of October, 20/2. Anthony Yeager, Mayor SIGNATURE ATTESTED BY: Carol Ann Borges Carol Ann Borges, City Secretary